Antique post stamp tarun rai fukan 1977 – The Craft Gallery
Antique post stamp tarun rai fukan 1977 - {variant_title}} - antique stamps - TCG ONLINE STORE - -

Antique post stamp tarun rai fukan 1977


  • Rs. 150.00
  • Save Rs. 49.00

Antique post stamp 

25 Paisa 38 years old

If you like to sell online

your antique collection


any Products / Services

Join your business with

Please call / sms / whatsapp at

+91 9811119866

Email at


Tarun Ram Phukan (Assamese: তৰুণ ৰাম ফুকন) (1877-1939) was a prominent leader of Assam. He was popularly known asDeshbhakta. He was educated in Cotton Collegiate School, Guwahati and Presidency College, Calcutta. Later, he moved to the Bar from Inner Temple in London. He educated as a lawyer but also served as Lecturer in Earle Law College in Guwahati.

He was a prominent member of a political organization then named Assam Association till 1920. Phookan played an important part in forming the Assam Branch of the Indian National Congress in 1921. He was elected its first President. When the Non-Cooperation Movement was started, Phookan took a leading part in it and he toured various parts of Assam carrying the message of Mahatma Gandhi. In connection with the Non-Cooperation Movement, he was sentenced to one year's rigorous imprisonment in 1921.

Phookan became the Chairman of the Reception Committee,Pandu Session of theIndian National Congress in 1926. He also served as Chairman of the Municipal Board and Local Board of Guwahati and undertook several programmes for the upliftment of the under-privileged sections of society. He established a Leper Asylum in Guwahati. He was a great orator and also a prominent writer. He served as the President of theAsam Sahitya Sabha, a premier literary organisation in Assam at its Goalpara Session in 1927. He also served as President of the Assam Chhatra Sammelan in 1928.

In 1921, Assam Provincial Congress Committee (APCC) was formed with its headquarters at Guwahati and Kuladhar Chaliha as its president. Tarun Ram Phookan became the president. The reconstituted APCC elected Phookan, Gopinath Bordoloi, Bimala Prasad Chaliha, Chandranath Sarmah, Krishna Nath Sarmah and Kanak Chandra Sarmah as the members of the AICC. This new committee initiated and invited Gandhi to Assam in 1921 to propagate the message of non-co-operation amongst the masses. Gandhi's visit gave tremendous impetus to the congress workers to carry out the non-cooperation movement and implement the principles of Swadeshi.

All India Congress Committee session was hosted by the APCC in 1926, at Pandu, Guwahati which was presided over by S. Srinivasa Iyengar and national leaders likeMotilal Nehru, Sardar Ballav Bhai Patel, Dr.Rajendra Prasad, Madan Mohan Malaviya,Muhammad Ali, Shaukat Ali, Sarojini Naidu, S. Satyamurti, Abul Kalam Azad, etc. attended the session.

We Also Recommend



Sold Out

 Call / WhatsApp / SMS / Now +919811119866 +919718999053 +919718999074 +917678311610

"FREE SHIPPING" if Shopping Over Rs.100 in Noida Sector 61 / 52 / 53 / 34 / 33 / 50% Shipping in Rest Noida / Pan India if Shopping Over Rs.2000

The Craft Gallery is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to

Get...... COVID-19 # Surgical Face Mask # Cotton washable Face Mask # Face Shield # PPE Kit # Sanitizer # Infrared Thermometer # Gloves # Goggles # much more

Bulk SMS - MSG91